Conflict Desert Storm

After a teary farewell by a host of three loyal supporters I departed Hobart to begin my journey.

Short trip to Melbourne, followed by a 14 hour plane ride from Melbourne to Dubai. Hopped on the plane, found my seat- next to a 21 month year old kid. This was gunna be good.

Turns out Oscar was a stand up guy, who enjoyed making making jokes about the plane crashing into the sea. Every time I’d nearly be asleep I’d wake up to someone yelling “CHICKEN PIE????” in my ear. It wasn’t even Oscar, but the flight attendants. This did get annoying, but who am I to turn down free food….

I arrived into Dubai at 5am. It was already a sticky 34 degrees. The sun wasn’t even out. It took about an hour getting through customs on this side.. It was like the guys checking the passports had to confer with their colleague that every single person was actually who they were saying they were.

My trustworthy tour company- “Arabian Adventures” turned out to be the most organised of the tour companies I saw at the airport. Although at one stage there were 7 of their staff members having a heated discussion about who would take me to my hotel, I had faith in them, mainly due to their well made red suit jackets and gold ties. It was almost like a barber shop bus driver squad.

Crying kids on the bus, and a few dirhams later and I was at the hotel- the Ibis Al Barsha. Not bad.

I then walked across some part of a small desert went to the” Mall Of The Emirates”. It was a big place. They had an indoor ski field, and a place called “Fat Burger”. After spending a good 3 hours walking around in circles and eating a chicken enchilada (not from Fat Burger) it dawned on me that I hadn’t slept for a good 35 hours and that I should get some kip.

My taxi driver yelled at me for the short fare, and then spent the short journey muttering to himself while I stared at my feet.

Not much else really happened during my time here.. I slept for the rest of the day and ate at the hotel.

This place has some pretty cool architecture though. One day it’d be good to come back here and do a desert safari riding on the back of a camel. I was also meaning to get to one of the water parks they have here, they look like a lot of fun. That being said, the weather being this hot means that anything air conditioned or wet looks like a lot of fun.

I leave first thing this morning for a plane headed directly to Copenhagen, Denmark. SEEYA!

3 thoughts on “Conflict Desert Storm

Leave a Reply

