Settling into the Den and a taste of Prague

 

Hello people..

Just as a sidenote, this blog is purely intended for my friends, so it has a much more casual tone than My professional side. If you are interested in what work I’ve been doing, have a look at the SKAL Student Exchange Facebook page.

I have a lot to get through, so here we go!

I spent a week working at Wonderful Copenhagen, which is the main visitor centre for the city, so a lot like my job back in Tas. It gave me an awesome insight into how things work over here, and I got to visit some of the top locations around the place, such as the Copenhagen Zoo(Highlights: Giraffes), the Planetarium (Space), the Carlsberg Brewery (Beer) and the Ripleys Believe it or not Museum (I don’t know what to say here).

 

 

On one of the days Henrick (my boss) and I went to visit some of the hotels around the place. In one of the fancier hotels there happened to be a TV crew doing some filming, so they asked me if could pretend to be a tourist, and took some footage of me “checking in”. I like to think of myself as the Danish equivalent to “Koshie”. The funny thing is they were running a story talking about how many prostitutes there were in the particular area, and how it affects the nearby businesses.. I’m not sure how it came across on the Danish News, whether or not I was a client, a prostitute, or a willing tourist, Oscar winning stuff none the less

The next couple of days I spent working on a dental conference in the Bella Sky Centre.


Leaving that place made me very conscious about my teeth and their maintenance. They had videos containing close up drills going into peoples jaws, while the people were still awake. Sounds like my kind of fun!
I went and saw an ACDC cover band at a great bar called “Sin City” which is in the area known as “The Meat Packing District”. It took me a few tries to accept that was really the name for area, but it turns out they really do package meat there. Great nightlife though!

I’ve spent the last couple of days in the Czech Republic. If you asked me where last year where I would be in one year, the Czech Republic would have been last on my list. It was a beautiful city though, and the food and drinks were nice and cheap. Pints costs around $1.50-$2.00 each, which leaves no one complaining. I saw some amazing churches and castles here, and visited their Communism Museum.

I know in my last post I didn’t include any real pictures, so I’ll make up for it below.

 

This is some traditional Czech food. The waiter explained it to me, and he pretty much told me it would be sliced steak, with vegetables and dumplings surrounding it, and a sweet sauce. Can’t say I expected these appetizing dishes to be presented before us!

 

Next week I will be visiting Rostock, in Germany, and shall post more news and pictures when I’ve settled in.

Hope everything is fine and dandy back home, and miss you all.

This is me as Jesus

Leave a Reply

